About BATT

What We Are About

Our Mission

To play a core role in the growth and stability of the financial sector, through advocacy and representation; and to facilitate the provision of the most competitive banking products and services to our customers, with integrity and transparency. The Bankers Association of Trinidad and Tobago is a non-profit organization formed among the commercial banks to promote collaboration on matters of importance to the banking sector.

Performance Goals

To create greater awareness of BATT, provide expert advice on matters related to the financial sector and impart knowledge on key issues related to the economic development of the country.

Our Objectives:

To Promote Consideration:

To promote consideration on all matters that affect the banking and financial sector, both locally and abroad.

To Promote Discussion:

To promote the discussion of all questions affecting the banking and financial sector, both locally and abroad.

To Protect & Represent:

To watch over, protect, represent, express and give effect to the views of the banks on matters in the banking and financial sector.

Our Operating Structure:

The affairs of the Association are managed through its Secretariat which is headed by the Executive Director, Mrs Kelly Bute-Seaton.

 BATT comprises eight member banks, each of which constitute the Board of Directors and is represented by their Managing Directors. The Board of Directors is responsible for the strategic guidance of the Association.

The Association elects bi-annually from amongst its Members a President, a Vice President and a Treasurer each of whom shall continue to hold office until the succeeding Annual Meeting.

The Association holds an Annual General Meeting every year not later than 15 months after the holding of the last Annual General Meeting. The appointed Accountants are BDO Chartered Accountants.

Special Committees, which comprise our member banks are also formed to deal with special matters. The sub committees are comprised of a representative of each of the banks and generally chaired by the representative of the bank where the president resides.

main committees:

Our Valued Members